Will Cook for Shoes: 5 Brunch Recipes

I absolutely love to cook.  I can spend hours in the kitchen preparing, experimenting and creating.  But there are days when I don’t have the energy to spend hours in the kitchen.  Here I will share 5 simple and easy brunch recipes straight from my cook book.  They are easy, delicious, tried, tested & loved ladies!

Amazon.com

1. Brown Sugar Bacon: Little additions to something as simple as bacon can make ALL the difference.

What you need:

  • 1 lb Bacon
  • 1 tsp Ground pepper
  • 1 cup Light brown sugar

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 365 (every oven varies).  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.  Arrange bacon in single layers.  Sprinkle evenly with pepper and sugar.  Bake about 30 minutes or until brown.  At about 15 minutes turn bacon.

2. Baba’s French Toast:  When I was little each time I stayed overnight at my Baba’s (grandmother in Slovak), she would make me and my sister french toast the next morning.  I would sit and watch her cook it, and when I was old enough she would let me cook it myself.  This is our recipe.

Baba's French toast

What you need:

  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 5 tablespoons butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 8 slices white or whole wheat bread
  • Powdered sugar to taste

DIRECTIONS:

In a small bowl, combine cinnamon and sugar.  In a skillet melt butter over medium heat.  Whisk together cinnamon, sugar, eggs and pour into a bowl.  Dip bread in egg mixture.  Fry slices until golden brown, on each side.  Place on dish with a little butter on tip.  Top with powdered sugar and maple syrup (you can warm the maple syrup too!).

3. Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes: I make this recipe for dinner as well.

What you need:

  • 4 russet potatoes, sliced into 1/4 inch slices
  • Salt, pepper and paprika to taste
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 cups milk
  • 3 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs (I make my own but you can use any brand)

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Butter casserole dish generously with butter (this allows you to be able to get the casserole out easily after cooked).

In saucepan melt butter over medium heat.  Mix in the flour and salt, and stir constantly with a whisk for about a minute.  Stir in milk.  Cook until mixture is thickened.  Stir in cheese all at once, and stir until melted.

Place a layer of potatoes in casserole dish.  Layer cheese sauce between layers of potatoes.  Continue this until you reach the top.  Sprinkle bread crumbs on top for extra crispiness.  Cover the dish with aluminum foil.  Bake 1 1/2 hours in the preheated oven.

4. Crockpot Brown Sugar Ham: Can you tell I love brown sugar?!!?!  Well I love my crockpot too.  Best invention EVER!

What you will need:

  • 1lb fully cooked ham’
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1tsp dry mustard powder

DIRECTIONS:

Sprinkly bottom of crockpot with brown sugar.  Put ham in crockpot and sprinkle with rest of brown sugar and add dry mustard powder.  Cook on low for 2 hours.  If you have a smaller crockpot, just buy a smaller ham.

5. The Bloody Mary: What is a brunch without a bloody mary?  I was introduced to the bloody mary at a beach bar on Fire Island.  After that, I perfected my own recipe.

What you need:

  • 1 oz Vodka (I prefer Kettle)
  • 2 oz tomato juice
  • 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 pinch pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Mix well vodka, tomato juice, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper.  Add ice.  Garnish with celery stalk.  Boom!  Done!

2 thoughts on “Will Cook for Shoes: 5 Brunch Recipes

Leave a Reply

